Jordan Covered Bridge, Oregon (Stayton-Jordan)
The Jordan Covered Bridge is apparently quite beloved by the community. The original bridge was a 90 foot long Howe truss bridge that crossed Thomas Creek right outside of what was the community of Jordan, Oregon. It was built in 1937 at a cost of $1850. The open sided design is unique to bridges in Linn County, Oregon. At the time a dam just downstream of the bridge provided power to the nearby city of Scio. The town of Jordan also had two mills, a general store, and most interesting of all, a cheese factory.
The bridge was removed in 1986 to be replaced with a concrete bridge. The dam was also removed, but the remains can still be seen where Jordan Road meets the Albany-Lyons Highway about halfway between Scio and Lyons. The City of Stayton requested the bridge to place in Pioneer Park to cross the Salem Power Canal to Wilderness Park. Volunteers with the help of the Marine Corps 6th Engineering Battalion (reserve) from Salem dismantled the bridge, moved it to pioneer park and started rebuilding it. Rebuilding was finished in 1988.
Unfortunately… on December 20th, 1994 the bridge caught on fire. Before the fire department could respond, the bridge was lost. The culprit turned out to be faulty wiring in Christmas Lights that had been installed on the bridge.
Luckily the city of Stayton had insured the bridge. They handed the money over to the Jordan Bridge Preservation society who rebuilt the bridge in a mere 18 weeks. The replacement bridge was renamed Stayton-Jordan and opened to the public on September 26, 1998.
The Stayton-Jordan Covered Bridge is located in Pioneer Park in Stayton Oregon at 7th and Marion Streets.
The Stayton-Jordan Covered bridge is World Guide Number 37-24-02